HTML Logo by World Wide Web Consortium (www.w3.org). Click to learn more about our commitment to accessibility and standards.

Moving forward with Composr

ocPortal has been relaunched as Composr CMS, which is now in beta. ocPortal 9 will be superseded by Composr 10.

Head over to compo.sr for our new site, and to our migration roadmap. Existing ocPortal member accounts have been mirrored.


Closed / Private / Corporate Settings

Login / Search

 [ Join | More ]
 Add topic 
Posted
Rating:
#71726 (In Topic #15080)
Avatar

Fan in training

Howto set security for a 'closed' site ie predefined members only?

Howto set security for a 'closed' site i.e. predefined members only?

I work for a training company and have literally [minutes ago] just setup OCP

I need to restrict the site so that only members I have added can access content.

So, thats no 'Join' buttons / welcome message etc!

Whast the best way to acheive this?

Thanks!
Back to the top
 
Posted
Rating:
#71728
Avatar

You can use the Permissions Tree Editor to remove Guest access to the 'Join' module. Then, you can edit the page text and language-strings to remove any references and links to the 'Join' module.

At that stage, you can manually add members via the Admin Zone and tell them the Login link.


Like ocPortal on Facebook:
Back to the top
 
Posted
Rating:
#71729
Avatar

Fan in training

At this stage I am not too worried about the text links initially as long as joebloggs cant create an account and add / change stuff - even if it is 'View Only' that would do !!!

Thanks … goes off looking for PTE :thumbs:

OK so I found the Module:Join - highlighted it and unticked 'View Access' next to the Guests Usergroup
then clicked the 'Set' Button.

Do I do good? Will this prevent _anyone_ joining?

Also, what are all those other groups [Local Hero et al?] - I only really need ;

Admin, Staff Members - thats it !!!


Last edit: by cpcnw
Back to the top
 
Posted
Rating:
#71861
Avatar

Community saint

You can go to Admin Zone Security Usergroups Edit usergroup - click on the edit, in the actions column (far right), scroll down toward the bottom and you will see the option to delete the group.

When you have finished removing the usergroups you do not need, go back to the usergroup tab, that will open the "Manage Usergroups" page. You can then click on "Add usergroup" and enter the groups you need.
Back to the top
 
There are too many online users to list.
Control functions:

Quick reply   Contract

Your name:
Your message: